Jennifer Deibel is the bestselling and award-winning author of A Dance in Donegal and The Lady of Galway Manor. She’s also a middle school teacher whose work has appeared on (in)courage, on The Better Mom, in Missions Mosaic magazine, and others. With firsthand immersive experience abroad, Jennifer writes stories that help redefine home through the lens of culture, history, and family. After nearly a decade of living in Ireland and Austria, she now lives in Arizona with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.jenniferdeibel.com .

Past Interviews with Jennifer:

Olivia’s Book Club/3 TV AZ

Overdrive “In the Know” Event Author Panel

Reading is my Superpower

The Poisoned Pen

Fresh Fiction Book Club Chat

Historical Fiction Unpacked

Baker Book House Historical Romance Author Panel

Social Media:

Instagram

Facebook

Goodreads

Bookbub

About A Dance in Donegal:

*winner of the Kipp Award for Historical Romance in 2021

After the loss of her Irish mother in the summer of 1920, Moira Doherty decides to fulfill her mother’s wish for her to leave Boston and teach in her mother’s home village of Ballymann in Donegal, Ireland. Though a few locals offer a warm welcome, others are distanced by superstition and suspicion. Rumors about a scandalous family reputation abound and threaten not only her new position but also her life. 

Moira must rely on the kindness of a handful of unlikely friends including Sean, a handsome thatcher, to help her clear her family name before it’s too late. As she seeks to navigate her new life in Ireland, she may find that this is truly the life she was always meant to live. 

Historical romance fans will embrace this lyrical tale of family and relish the cultural nuances, the rich history and the beautiful setting imbedded in the pages of A Dance in Donegal.  

About The Lady of Galway Manor:

*A Parable Group Bestsellter

In 1920, Annabeth De Lacy’s father is appointed landlord of Galway Parish in Ireland. Bored without all the trappings of the British Court, Annabeth convinces her father to arrange an apprenticeship for her with the Jennings family–descendants of the creator of the famed Claddagh Ring.

Stephen Jennings longs to do anything other than run his family’s jewelry shop. Having had his heart broken, he no longer believes in love and is weary of peddling the “lies” the Claddagh Ring promises.

Meanwhile, as the war for Irish independence gains strength, many locals resent the De Lacys and decide to take things into their own hands to display their displeasure. As events take a dangerous turn for Annabeth and her family, she and Stephen begin to see that perhaps the “other side” isn’t quite as barbaric and uncultured as they’d been led to believe–and that the bonds of friendship, love, and loyalty are only made stronger when put through the refiner’s fire.

Travel to the Emerald Isle for another poignant and romantic story from the enchanted pen of Jennifer Deibel.

About The Maid of Ballymacool:

Brianna Kelly was abandoned at Ballymacool House and Boarding School as an infant. She has worked there since she was a wee girl and will likely die there. Despite a sense that she was made for something more, Brianna feels powerless to change her situation, so she consoles herself by exploring the Ballymacool grounds, looking for hidden treasures to add to the secret trove beneath the floorboards of her room.

When Michael Wray, the son of local gentry, is sent to Ballymacool to deal with his unruly cousin, he finds himself drawn to Brianna, immediately and inescapably. There is something about her that feels so . . . familiar. When Brianna finds a piece of silver in the woods, she commits to learning its origins, with the help of Michael. What they discover may change everything.

Fan favorite Jennifer Deibel invites you back to the Emerald Isle in the 1930s for this fresh take on the Cinderella story, complete with a tantalizing mystery, a budding romance, and a chance at redemption.

Praise for Jennifer Deibel:

“A classic boy-meets-girl story that packs a powerful punch.”–Library Journal starred review

“Deibel deftly weaves fascinating details about Irish history and culture into the plot of her latest sweetly romantic love story.”–Booklist

“Set against the backdrop of romance, beauty, and a firmly-held faith, Jennifer Deibel paints a lavish portrait of Ireland’s Emerald Shores in this atmospheric debut. . . . Fans of Catherine Marshall’s Christy will want to clear room on their favorites shelf because this one’s earned a place alongside!”–Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Paris Dressmaker and The Butterfly and the Violin


“Jennifer Deibel’s debut is rich in atmosphere, family mystery, and sweet romance. Her love of Ireland and her years spent there shine through in her depictions of characters and setting. A gem!” —Julie Klassen, author of The Bridge to Belle Island


“Journey to the Emerald Isle with A Dance in Donegal! With an authenticity born of having lived in Ireland herself, the author deftly paints a lush landscape, colorful customs, and memorable characters with personal journeys of their own. Certain to appeal to fans of historical romance, this impressive debut marks Jennifer Deibel as an author to watch. I can’t wait to read what she writes next.”

Jocelyn Green, Christy Award–winning author of Veiled in Smoke


“The misty air of Donegal will seep into your soul just as swiftly and surely as the characters do in Jennifer Deibel’s debut novel. Jennifer clearly knows and loves Ireland, and she fills every scene with vivid description and lilting dialogue. A Dance in Donegal is a romance, to be sure, yet there are secrets to uncover and a tender spiritual journey at its heart. Pour a cuppa and curl up with this gem of a story.”

Liz Curtis HiggsNew York Times bestselling author of Mine Is the Night


“Rich in atmosphere, deep in meaning, and sweet in nature. Jennifer Deibel’s A Dance in Donegal captivated me. Moira’s courage and compassion and Sean’s solid strength make them endearing characters, and the supporting characters were both flawed and charming. I truly loved this story.”

Sarah Sundin, bestselling and award-winning author of When Twilight Breaks and the Sunrise at Normandy series


Jennifer Deibel’s debut is a hallmark of atmospheric and immersive writing. Her obvious passion for Ireland is a deft brush stroke against a lush green canvas. Featuring a strong heroine and themes of resilience through adversity, this lovely and impeccably researched debut is a treatise on belonging and the many facets of home. Unabashedly romantic both in setting and in tone, A Dance in Donegal firmly establishes Deibel as a must read for fans of Kristy Cambron. Jennifer Delamere and Sarah Ladd.”—Rachel McMillan, agent at William K. Jensen agency and author of the The London Restoration


“A gem of a novel set in the Emerald Isle, The Lady of Galway Manor immerses you in a world of differing loyalties, histories, and expectations in 1920s Ireland. With a dash of danger and a soul-satisfying romance, Jennifer Deibel shines through the characters of Annabeth and Stephen, drawing them together through a faith forged and tested amid a backdrop of war. Well done!”

Laura Frantz, Christy Award–winning author of A Heart Adrift

“An immersive read that left me feeling as though I had actually traveled to Ireland. Deibel is proving herself a master at taking readers from all over the world and throwing them into the culture and time of her stories. Pick up this book and be transported to 1920s Ireland, where folklore abounds, conflict is brimming, and love is in the air.”

Rachel Fordham, author of A Lady in Attendance

“What a superb visit to Ireland! Authentic, lively characters are spun to life in this tale based on the captivating legend of the Claddagh ring. Set during the Irish War of Independence, The Lady of Galway Manor showcases a fascinating piece of Irish history alongside the raw, internal struggles of two characters who are destined to be enemies—and a remarkable source of healing for each other. Deibel brings the tension to a heady climax like a seasoned pro, weaving in and out of danger and high stakes until the very end. Anyone wishing to visit Ireland needs to experience a book by this author. I could almost taste the sea air, and I didn’t want to leave!”

Joanna Davidson Politano, award-winning author of A Midnight Dance

Stats as of 6/1/22:

Newsletter subscribers: 2,849

Instagram followers: 2,569

Facebook followers: 2,159

Monthly web pageviews: ~5,000